System User Groups & Permissions

System User Groups & Permissions

Contents

System Users vs. Accounts
Default User Groups
Creating Custom User Groups/Permissions
User Group Quick Setup
Deleting Custom User Groups
User Group Advanced Settings
Adding New System Users
Adding or Resetting System User Passwords
Deactivating and Reactivating System Users
API Access
Related Guides and Videos

System Users vs. Accounts

It is important to understand that a System User is NOT the same as a NeonCRM Account. If you want to track account information (e.g. transactions, address info, communications) about a System User, you will need to give them an account that is separate from their system user login.

Please note that both constituents and system users log in to Neon from the same login page (https://[your_org_id].z2systems.com/login.jsp or https://www.z2systems.com/np/clients/your_org_id]/login.jsp).

zd_generic_account_login_page.jpg

While system users will be taken to the back-end of NeonCRM upon logging in, your constituents will be taken to your Constituent Login Portal upon entering the login name and password linked to their NeonCRM account.


Default User Groups

User Groups define levels of access to features in your system. A User Group is a set of permissions that determines what group members have access to and what they can do while in NeonCRM. Each System User must be assigned to a User Group.

As many as 10 System Users can be logged in at the same time, but you can create an unlimited number of system users.

Your system comes with three default user groups:

  1. System Administrator has the highest level of access. You probably don’t want to give everyone at your organization Administrator access, as that allows you to change anything and everything

  2. System User has access to everything except the System Settings and Forms & Pages Tabs

  3. System Limited User can only see what’s in the “My Account” section

You cannot edit the default user groups, but you can create your own custom User Groups/Permissions, as described below.


Custom User Groups/Permissions

You may want to create different User Groups based on what your staff will be doing with the system.

Note: Please be aware that you cannot restrict access to basic account functionality. All system users are able to view, create, edit and delete Neon account data. Account access is the essential access level that all permissions have.

To add new User Groups, navigate to: System Settings > User Groups/Permissions

zd_system_user_menu_user_groups.jpg

Click Create User Group to create custom user groups with specific permissions that you define.

create_user_group.png

Name it, and add a code for internal reference. If you define a Parent User Group, the group inherits the permissions from that level. It also organizes it in the list you just saw. Description is just for your own reference.

Now you will define what this user group has access to using Basic or Advanced configuration settings.

User Group Quick Setup

From the User Group Quick Setup page, you can configure some basic permission settings.

  • View lets the user see that section of NeonCRM.
  • Create/Edit lets them create new entries and modify existing ones.
  • Delete lets them delete this type of data.

Below the Basic Settings, you can turn on or off some of NeonCRM’s Other Features.

Under the Advanced Settings, you can restrict specific information from the users. These can be useful if your organization deals with sensitive or confidential information. Send Campaign Email controls their ability to send out mass emails.

zd_user_group_quick_setup_other.jpg

User Group Advanced Settings

If you want to go into greater detail with their access, click on the Advanced Settings link that appears at the top of the quick setup page, as shown below:

This gives you a lot of control over the specific things this user can access. It also separates out the create and edit permissions.

Deleting Custom User Groups

If you would like to delete a custom user group, select it from the list and click Delete Selected User Group.

If any active or deactivated users belong to this group, you will receive the following warning:

Click Yes to move those users to the standard System Users group and proceed with deleting the custom group.

 


Adding New System Users

To assign these user group settings to a System User, you must assign that user to your User Group.

To add new system users, navigate here: System Settings > System Users

zd_system_user_menu_system_users.jpg

Create a New User or click Edit next to an existing System User.

new_user.png

Use the drop-down menu to select the User Group you want to assign this System User.

System Default as well as Custom User Groups/Permissions will appear in the User Group drop-down menu.

If you do not select a User Group, System Administrator is selected by default.

Complete the system user name and email fields. First Name, Last Name and Email Address are required.

Clicking Create User will create a new system user account with a status of Pending Verification.

At this time, the new user will receive a verification email with instructions on how to set up the login id and password for their user account:

zd_new_user_verification_email.jpg

Note: The contents of this verification email are not editable. The sender name and email address are those entered in the Contact Name and Contact Email fields respectively on your Organization Profile page. If no information is entered there, the email recipient will see an invalid email address as the sender.

The verification links are valid for 24 hours. If the user does not receive the email or fails to confirm their email address within this time, you can resend the verification email from the Edit screen of their user account:

Once the user verifies their account, but before they log in, their account will appear on your System User list with a status of Verified:

After they log in for the first time, their status will change to Active and their last login time will appear in the appropriate column:

Adding or Resetting System User Passwords

When creating a new system user, you can manually assign a username and password from the Advanced Options section of the user create/edit page:

Generally, this option is only recommended when the newly created user is unable to access their email. Otherwise, the user should create their own username and password using the email automatically sent to them when this form is submitted.

If a system user forgets their password, they can click the "Forgot Password"? link on the login page and send themselves the Reset Password System Email. Alternatively, a System Administrator can send them the same email from the Edit page of their system user account:

A system administrator can also manually change the username and/or password from the Advanced Options section.

Note: If a system user changes their own password, they will receive a System User Password Change Confirmation email. If another System Administrator manually changes their password, they will not receive a notification.

Deactivating and Reactivating System Users

Any Active or Verified names on your System User List will include an option to deactivate this user.

zd_deactivate_user_list.jpg

If you click the Deactivate link next to a name, you will receive the following warning:

zd_deactivate_warning.jpg

"Deactivated" users will appear at the end of the System User List by default, with an option to re-activate them.

zd_deactivated_user.jpg

Once deactivated, the user account will be locked for viewing or editing unless they are reactivated.

Note: System users cannot deactivate themselves from the System User list.

You can filter your System User List by status:

zd_filter_by_status.jpg

API Access

Change this setting to Enabled if you want to give a user access to NeonCRM's API. A new API key will be generated for that user's email address when this setting is enabled.

 


Related Guides and Videos

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk