Editing, Deleting, and Migrating Account Custom Field Options

Editing, Deleting, and Migrating Account Custom Field Options

This guide will address how to clean up account custom fields by either deleting or consolidating field options you do not use into options you do plan to use.

NeonCRM has two ways to perform these actions:

For either method, this does involve mass data changes that cannot be undone, so it is a good idea to export a report of accounts with this information, as a backup to any user error. This guide explains reporting on Account Custom Fields. Also, if you plan to consolidate any field options, make sure you have already created the new option into which you will consolidate under Available Field Options

zd_add_custom_field_option.jpg


Delete or Consolidate Options from the Account Custom Field's Page

This is a quick way to delete a field option. You can either choose to delete all of the data in this field, or move all of the data to merge into another option for this custom field. 

First, navigate to: System Settings > Home/Dashboard > Accounts > Custom Fields

Under the Custom Data List click Edit next to the desired field.

zd_edit_custom_field.jpg

Scroll down to the Available Field Options.  If you plan to consolidate any field options, make sure to Add the new option you wish to consolidate into and save. Next, check the field options you will consolidate and click Delete. Save again.

zd_delete_custom_field_option.jpg

You will see this error message:

zd_cant_delete_option.jpg

Click the blue click here. You will be shown two options for what to do with the data that currently occupies this field. The first is to remove it:

zd_remove_option_data.jpg

This option will delete all of the data in this custom field option along with the option itself.

The other option is to Substitute another Custom Data Choice for XX record(s) of Custom Data of Account:

zd_substitute_custom_field_data.jpg

This option will merge the data in this option into another option of your choice, then delete the option itself.

Click Consolidate & Continue to Delete to complete this task.


Bulk Operations

NeonCRM's account Bulk Edit or Delete tool allows you search for specific accounts and perform bulk operations on their Organization, Individual & Account Custom Data. Read a full description in the Bulk Edit or Delete Accounts guide


Related Guides

Back to top ^

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk